Agency Requesting Birthdate to Make Transfer
Thread poster: Arabic & More
Arabic & More
Arabic & More  Identity Verified
Jordan
Arabic to English
+ ...
Feb 13, 2019

I had an odd experience this week with an agency that I have been working with for several years and was wondering if anyone has encountered anything similar.

Basically, a payment was due, and I was informed that it had been released. I thus anticipated receiving the payment within a day or two as usually happens.

Instead, the agency's accountant contacted me to say that their bank was requesting my date of birth in order to process the payment. I found this odd and sai
... See more
I had an odd experience this week with an agency that I have been working with for several years and was wondering if anyone has encountered anything similar.

Basically, a payment was due, and I was informed that it had been released. I thus anticipated receiving the payment within a day or two as usually happens.

Instead, the agency's accountant contacted me to say that their bank was requesting my date of birth in order to process the payment. I found this odd and said so as I could not imagine how this information would help them in any way. Also, considering the fact that the agency has my social security number for tax purposes, I did not feel good about the possibility of them also having my date of birth, since we are always warned that it is these two pieces of information that fraudsters seek when attempting identity-theft and other crimes.

So, I basically asked for the name of the bank and a person I could contact to discuss the matter further.

I didn't hear back from the agency but instead received my payment two days later with no further comment.

It is a very reputable agency, and I have never had any problems working with them. I am, however, totally perplexed and not sure what to think.

Can anyone enlighten me?
Collapse

Lincoln Hui
Lincoln Hui  Identity Verified
Hong Kong
Local time: 07:28