Deciding how to charge for native to non-native translation
Thread poster: JoGunn
JoGunn
JoGunn
Local time: 11:48
English to Icelandic
+ ...
May 21, 2004

I am just beginning to work professionally as a translator and have been offered a job translating a short technical text into English.
During my time in university, my translation teacher hammered into my head that I should not be doing translations into English, only into my native Icelandic. (Not because my English is bad, but because it's not native to me).
Now I'm wondering how to charge for the job: do I charge less than for a translation into Icelandic because English is not
... See more
I am just beginning to work professionally as a translator and have been offered a job translating a short technical text into English.
During my time in university, my translation teacher hammered into my head that I should not be doing translations into English, only into my native Icelandic. (Not because my English is bad, but because it's not native to me).
Now I'm wondering how to charge for the job: do I charge less than for a translation into Icelandic because English is not my native language, or do I charge more because it is more difficult to translate into a non-native language?
Collapse

Patricia Posadas
Patricia Posadas  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 12:48
English to Spanish
+ ...
In my experience... May 21, 2004

If you go for it, charge more and pay a qualified English-speaking colleague to get your work reviewed. I sometimes translate educational research work into English, but always have my work reviewed by an English-speaking colleague. This means I charge my translation + the revision.

Orla Ryan
Orla Ryan  Identity Verified
Ireland
Local time: 12:48
translation May 21, 2004

Patricia Posadas wrote: