Any suggestions for marketing freelance translation?
Thread poster: Stacey Wilcox (X)
Stacey Wilcox (X)
Stacey Wilcox (X)
Local time: 20:20
Spanish to English
Nov 2, 2005

Hi everyone,

I'm new to translating and currently working on a website to advertise my freelance translating services. Does anyone have any further suggestions on marketing and what they found was more successful in attracting work? Any help with this would be much appreciated,
Thanks

Stacey

Quality counts! Nov 2, 2005

Answer to your question is simple and straightforward.
Just do good job and satisfy your clients (in case you are doing the job through agencies, then your goal is your client's clients).
As long as you stay with ProZ and keep applying job posting, eventually you get it (not instantly, not very easily, but you will). Then give the best shot.
Those agencies have plenty of suppy of translators and competition is stiff -- so you must stand out above the crowd. Horn your skill alw
... See more
Answer to your question is simple and straightforward.
Just do good job and satisfy your clients (in case you are doing the job through agencies, then your goal is your client's clients).
As long as you stay with ProZ and keep applying job posting, eventually you get it (not instantly, not very easily, but you will). Then give the best shot.
Those agencies have plenty of suppy of translators and competition is stiff -- so you must stand out above the crowd. Horn your skill always, be knowledgeable.
You may put out expensive web site, and your job does not meet, nobody will give a damn about your website.
In essense, QUALITY COUNTS!

[Edited at 2005-11-02 23:06]
Collapse

Lucinda Hollenberg
Lucinda Hollenberg  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:20
Dutch to English
+ ...
You are your own best advertisement! Nov 2, 2005

Your work that is. Just like Humbird said: Quality counts.