Research: Localizing dynamic websites
Thread poster: Ofietje (X)
Ofietje (X)
Ofietje (X)
Apr 13, 2011

Hello everyone,

I'm a student of the ‘Master in Translation studies’ at the HUBrussels. I'm writing my thesis about 'the problems that may arise when localizing dynamic websites' and I was hoping you could help me providing information for my research.

The concept of ‘problems’ can be very broad: from language and culture related problems to the technical limitations of the localization software, the fragmentation of the process for big companies, which elemen
... See more
Hello everyone,

I'm a student of the ‘Master in Translation studies’ at the HUBrussels. I'm writing my thesis about 'the problems that may arise when localizing dynamic websites' and I was hoping you could help me providing information for my research.

The concept of ‘problems’ can be very broad: from language and culture related problems to the technical limitations of the localization software, the fragmentation of the process for big companies, which elements should or shouldn't be localized or may pose problems for the translator (colors, images, icons, currency, numeric and date formats, layout and making the difference between main body text and peripheral text), etc.

For my research I am looking for people who want to share their experience on this topic.
- Which problems have you encountered and how did you solve them?
- Which tool do you prefer and why? What are its limitations and is there room for improvement?
- Etc.
Collapse

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 22:41
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Dynamic... Apr 14, 2011

Ofietje wrote:
I'm writing my thesis about 'the problems that may arise when localizing dynamic websites' and I was hoping you could help me providing information for my research.