Chinese student living in US, what certification should I get to do translation/interpretation work?
Thread poster: biaoliu
biaoliu
biaoliu
United States
Local time: 04:06
Member (1970)
Chinese to English
+ ...
Jun 19, 2013

Hi everyone, my question is in the topic, many thanks! A little background:I have a master's degree in global management, looking to do some freelance work. Many thanks!

parlezvous
parlezvous
Local time: 07:06
English to French
+ ...
Requirement Jun 19, 2013

First of all, make sure your visa allows you to work while holding student status. Otherwise, you could end up in a lot of trouble.

LilianNekipelov
LilianNekipelov  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:06
Russian to English
+ ...
Hi. You don't need any certifications -- you may get some if you'd like Jun 20, 2013

You really need a work permit -- I think students are only allowed to work a certain numbers of hours, like 20 hours a week, at the campus, or something like that. You have to check the details, because there are different types of visas.

You would need a certification for court -- to work as an interpreter, but you really have to be a US citizen to work for most courts.

[Edited at 2013-06-20 14:08 GMT]

To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:

You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Chinese student living in US, what certification should I get to do translation/interpretation work?

CafeTran Espresso
You've never met a CAT tool this clever!

Translate faster & easier, using a sophisticated CAT tool built by a translator / developer. Accept jobs from clients who use Trados, MemoQ, Wordfast & major CAT tools. Download and start using CafeTran Espresso -- for free

Buy now! »
Anycount & Translation Office 3000
Translation Office 3000