So, I'm a portuguese "aspie"... how can I get started in this business?
Thread poster: CatiaCruz
CatiaCruz
CatiaCruz
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Nov 19, 2012

Hello, my name is Cátia, I'm from Portugal and I suffer from Asperger's Syndrome.

I have a degree in Portuguese and English and I've been studying the language since I was 8.

The thing is, due to my "condition" it is really hard for me to get a job as I have a lack of social skills or experience in social situations. I often have panic attacks...

Life is hard and I really needed to make some money. I feel like I could be efficient in translation, but I don
... See more
Hello, my name is Cátia, I'm from Portugal and I suffer from Asperger's Syndrome.

I have a degree in Portuguese and English and I've been studying the language since I was 8.

The thing is, due to my "condition" it is really hard for me to get a job as I have a lack of social skills or experience in social situations. I often have panic attacks...

Life is hard and I really needed to make some money. I feel like I could be efficient in translation, but I don't know where to start. Where can I find some translation jobs? It would be really important to me to be able to work from home.

Could someone, please, give me some ideas where/how to start? Could you show me the ropes?

Thank you for your time,

Cátia
Collapse

Susanna Garcia
Susanna Garcia  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:33
Italian to English
+ ...
In memoriam
Photo Nov 19, 2012

Hi Catia,

First of all, change your ID photo. It's very attractive but not really appropriate for a professional image.

I'll leave the rest to the usual suspects.

Good luck.

Stanislav Pokorny
Stanislav Pokorny  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 17:33
English to Czech
+ ...
Another thread Nov 19, 2012

Hi Cátia,
perhaps you would like to visit this thread where another "aspie", who is a successful translation professional with long years of experience, talks about his condition.

Good luck!