require help from the experts in translation
Thread poster: salman
salman
salman
Local time: 19:17
English to Japanese
Aug 1, 2002

I have just begun translating. As such,I require help in making my career a success.

Few points where in I require your suggestions, advices are mentioned below.

1. I am a Japanese to English translator.

Hence, when I get difficult sentences, how to deal with. That means where do I concentrate on, read out the full sentence or catch phrases or or or or. No idea as to how to start.

2. What to consider as most important wh
... See more
I have just begun translating. As such,I require help in making my career a success.

Few points where in I require your suggestions, advices are mentioned below.

1. I am a Japanese to English translator.

Hence, when I get difficult sentences, how to deal with. That means where do I concentrate on, read out the full sentence or catch phrases or or or or. No idea as to how to start.

2. What to consider as most important when translating from Japanese to English. Probably this can be answered by the masters in this pair or by the other pairs\' masters.

3. When it comes to technical translation (includes all engineering fields), what is the best way to do.

This is just few of my queries, and I feel there is no end to my queries when I felt like questioning the experts in a wonderful forum like this.

Please also provide me a list of all engineering dictionaries in Japanese to English and vice versa.

domo arigato gozaimashita (thank you very much)
Collapse

Bob Kerns (X)
Bob Kerns (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 15:47
German to English
Comment which will probably not help you much Aug 2, 2002

Hello Salman,

I suspect that the reason why you havn\'t received a reply to your questions for over 24 hours is that nobody feels courageous enough to tell you that your English isn\'t (yet) good enough to make a successful career in translating into English, at least in the European market.