How do I ask someone to be a professional reference?
Thread poster: Benjamin Weidelener
Benjamin Weidelener
Benjamin Weidelener  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 10:21
English to German
+ ...
May 5, 2023

Hello there,

as you know, many potential customers or clients ask for professional references, i.e., people you've work with before and who can attest that you're experienced at what you do.

As a freelance translator, I find myself in the situation that the only people with whom I work and who know how well I do my job are the project managers of the agencies I work for. I've been wanting to ask a couple of them if I could mention them as professional references, but it
... See more
Hello there,

as you know, many potential customers or clients ask for professional references, i.e., people you've work with before and who can attest that you're experienced at what you do.

As a freelance translator, I find myself in the situation that the only people with whom I work and who know how well I do my job are the project managers of the agencies I work for. I've been wanting to ask a couple of them if I could mention them as professional references, but it seems strange to me. After all, these potential customers are their competitors, and by helping me get more work from other people, they potentially lose a member of their pool.

Do you have any experiences in asking someone to be your professional reference? If so, how would you recommend going about it?

Thanks a lot in advance for your insight. By the way, this is my first post on ProZ, so apologies in advance if this question has already been asked.

Cheers,
Ben
Collapse

William Bowley
William Bowley
United Kingdom
Local time: 09:21
Spanish to English
+ ...
NDAs May 5, 2023

Hi Ben,

If the project manager is someone you have a particularly positive working relationship or history with, then I can't see an issue with asking them to act as a reference.