Gurikusama
Gurikusama
France
Local time: 18:36
English to French
+ ...
Mar 28

Hi folks!
I've been a freelancer for about 15 years.
I've always used the simplified French self-employed "auto-entrepreneur" company type to easily issue invoices to my clients, without bothering with yearly reports, VAT and whatnots.
But I left France about six months ago and as an expat, I wonder how I should proceed.
I can keep that French status, but it charges me 21% of my income for services I won't use (social welfare, training programs, retirement fund...).
... See more
Hi folks!
I've been a freelancer for about 15 years.
I've always used the simplified French self-employed "auto-entrepreneur" company type to easily issue invoices to my clients, without bothering with yearly reports, VAT and whatnots.
But I left France about six months ago and as an expat, I wonder how I should proceed.
I can keep that French status, but it charges me 21% of my income for services I won't use (social welfare, training programs, retirement fund...).
If I create a company where I am currently (Colombia), I was told I would have to pay 35% in taxes, which means I would make much less, or I would have to increase my rates.
I was advised to create a company in the neighboring Panama, but the firm I contacted to set up a company and a bank account wants to charge me some yearly $3000, which is not much less than the taxes I pay each year to the French government, with extra hassle, I presume.
If I have to choose between these two, I prefer to sponsor the French social welfare system rather than a Panama law firm...
Any expats / digital nomads around? What can you recommend me?
Cheers!
Collapse

Steve Robbie
Steve Robbie
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:36
Member (2017)
German to English
+ ...
Do you need a company? Mar 29

Personal income tax rates in Colombia only reach 35% on earnings over US$100,000. https://langoncolombia.com/filing-personal-taxes-in-colombia-a-comprehensive-guide-updated-2024/