How do you handle clients that you know personally?
Thread poster: JustineCH (X)
JustineCH (X)
JustineCH (X)
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:26
English to French
+ ...
May 24, 2018

Good evening to you all,

First I hope this topic is in the right section - my apologies, it's the first time I have used Proz Forum.

To give you a bit of background, I have been a freelance translator for around 2 years, but I still work full-time as I don't have enough clients to support me fully at the moment and I also did not feel ready to be freelance 100% of the time until now, but that's another story.

I mostly do creative translations into French fo
... See more
Good evening to you all,

First I hope this topic is in the right section - my apologies, it's the first time I have used Proz Forum.

To give you a bit of background, I have been a freelance translator for around 2 years, but I still work full-time as I don't have enough clients to support me fully at the moment and I also did not feel ready to be freelance 100% of the time until now, but that's another story.

I mostly do creative translations into French for whisky companies (I live in Scotland). These translations are very time consuming and sometimes need entirely rewritten, as the initial writing is pretty bad. I enjoy doing them but I sometimes get frustrated with a client of mine.